New lippie :D

I wish I could say it was a multiple word – lippies, instead of lippie – but I’d go broke if I did that because I’d want to pick over ten shades in total.

Before I ramble on let me explain what I’m talking about. I recently made an order for some of the Simply Lip Creams by NYX Cosmetics. I fell in love with the colours the minute they were up online but only was able to get my hands on them over the weekend. I bought a couple of extras for my little in-house business and told myself I’d keep ONE for myself. Just one. And so yes, that’s just it, I have all but one lippie to show off to you guys today.

Candy Apple
Candy Apple

The one I picked for myself is Candy Apply from the Simply Red Lip Cream range. NYX also has six shades in three other ranges – pinks, nudes and vamps. All of the vampy shades seem to be forever out of stock, the nudes are a tough pick online so I had to forgo that too and I’m considering buying XOXO from the pinks range. Tell me what you think šŸ™‚

So, back to Candy Apple. On the main website the colour is described as a fuchsia red and I thought this was a colour I didn’t really own in my lippie collection. I do own reds but they are pure reds and blood reds for the most part; a fuchsia red sounded a lot more funky and something I could lightly apply on my lips for a day to day kind of look.

20141201_144812

I tried it on today and wowieeee!!!! This is such a bold fuchsia type of red but I was instantly in love with it. I would say it’s a little much for a casual day wear look but if you happen to be heading to a fancy luncheon or big do, this would be more than ideal. I love the chunky stick packaging of the product, because you can use it like a pen and draw the colour onto your lips with a lot of ease unlikeĀ using a doe foot applicator (I still like that as well though). You can certainly tackle the edges of the lips and curves a lot better with this and find that you would never have to use a lip pencil either because the application is so precise.

There’s no need to sharpen the product once you start using it because you can twist the bottom. This I like very much as well. This way you can control how much product you’re using. As far as opacity and pigmentation goes, this is truly amazing. All you need is one or two swipes of the lip cream and you’re good to go because it applies so well and truly as shown on the packaging. I do not however understand why it is called a lip cream because these aren’t as creamy as the soft matte lip creams. These are no where close to those. These are simply hydrating and well pigmented lipsticks in my personal opinion.

They apply on matte so if you’re a matte lipstick fan, you’ll fall in love with these colours and the range. One little downside is that it easily transfers. I used a napkin to wipe some food off my lips – I dabbed but it got off quite a bit of colour from my lips which I was NOT thrilled about. However, this is long-wearing! I had it on my lips without any bleeding for a good 4+ hours.

I was also a teeny bit bummed that these do not have the same cake batter scentĀ as do the soft matte lip creams. Maybe I am comparing them a bit too much but oh well the names are quite similar and I thought they would too to a certain extent. These do not have a scent at all which was a little disappointing for me. I like it when my lip products smell yummy and good, so this factor was another bummer.

Overall, I think it is a great product and I’m super thrilled there is a good selection of these available. As far as repurchasing more from this range, as said, I think I’d just go for one more colour (XOXO most likely) and leave it at all.

Xoxo

2 thoughts on “New lippie :D”

Leave a Reply

