Until…

We looked into each other’s eyes

He breathed

I stared

‘Are you mad at me’? he asked

I inhaled

‘More at myself than you’

He started to speak

But I continued…

‘Mad at myself

For letting myself

Feel things I shouldn’t

Dream of things I shouldn’t

And want things I shouldn’t’

He whispered my name

And my heart broke a little

He moved a step closer

And my heart hitched inside

‘Don’t… don’t come any closer’

I said

He took another step

Towards me

‘Please don’t’ I said again

‘Give me a hug’ he said

And a tear rolled down my face

‘That’s what I’m afraid of’

Another step

Another tear

He reached out to me

Held my waist

And pulled me closer

I broke down entirely

And clung to him

He already knew

What was on my mind

And I knew he wouldn’t say

The words I dreamed him say

So we stayed

In each other’s arms

In silence

Until it was time to say goodbye

Leave a Reply

